News

 


Cambridge architects in renewal project to honour Cambridge’s war dead

The long-awaited reopening has taken place of the war memorial in the churchyard of Holy Trinity Church in the centre of Cambridge, which commemorates those members of the congregation who perished in the Great War of 1914-1918. Cambridge architects, Freeland Rees Roberts, were among the guests at the ceremony. As the architects commissioned by the City Council to oversee the restoration, they took particular pleasure in being there.

The Holy Trinity memorial is unlike others. It was conceived and designed as a memorial with a practical purpose: to shelter family members who might like to sit and remember and as a place for the public to sit and wait for the buses that used to stop outside the churchyard in Sydney Street.

The reopening ceremony revealed a charming, restored, panelled octagonal oak structure under a pitched lead roof with seating around the sides and repainted iron railings across the unglazed window bays. The names of those commemorated are carved into the wooden wall plate and gilded.

Now the tree has gone, daylight marks up the pointed roof with its delicate cross on top, improved drainage has conquered the damp and the shelter is in full view once more to be seen and enjoyed. Cambridge City Council’s as the body responsible for the closed churchyard and who commissioned Freeland Rees Roberts, can be justly proud of the shelter, restored to the people of Cambridge once more and to those whom it commemorates.

This has been an especially satisfying project for the Freeland Rees Roberts team.

Tagged with: